Time period for support/resistance lines/trends

Hello everyone,
I’ve been trading in the fx market on demo for the last 6 months, switched to real account 2 months ago, and started seriously using metatrader for the past weeks.

I have a very simple (beginner) question: when drawing the support and resistance lines, what time period should i choose? Does it depend on my average holding time (short term/day trades vs swing/position trades) ?
Thank you very much!

ok
the Time Scale you use is up to you
it’s what you feel comfortable with

What you need to keep in mind is this
if you draw a support line (let’s say) on a 1 minute chart
it will not be as strong of a support as drawing a line of say a weekly chart

but if you are asking what do you use, between say Weekly or H4
up to you mate, whatever you like

i would suggest Using Multiple, not just one

1 Like

[quote=“Martin_K, post:2, topic:134010”]if you draw a support line (let’s say) on a 1 minute chart
it will not be as strong of a support as drawing a line of say a weekly chart[/quote]
If prices are in the mix approaching a big figure or a well broadcast round number from either direction that’s well stocked with options & multiple stop order tickets, the level will still trade exactly the same regardless whether it’s plotted & highlighted on a 1 minute chart or a weekly.

It’s not the time view reference that’s relevant, only the grade of level plotted. And to expand that comment, activity was brisk & heavy around a few of those examples the past couple weeks at 1.70 on eurnzd, 0.80 on audusd, 1.00 on audcad, 1.40 on gbpusd, 110.0 on usdjpy & 26000 on dow. Certainly enough to collect a decent haul for those with the right tactics to play them.

No… i wasn’t referring to that
of course Price traded tick by tick and time frames are merely an extension of the tick by tick data.

yes. instruments trade the same on a 1minute chart as they do on a Yearly chart because price movement is price movement regardless