To offshore, or not to offshore.. so many questions

I am new to FX and still going through pip-school. I’m currently shopping around for a broker, or at least building a short-list for when it’s appropriate to open an account. I’m finding the amount of twists and turns in the industry the last 10 years dizzying. What I’ve gleaned so far is that in 2006-2009 US brokers were favored but Dodd-Frank changed everything. Now it seems pretty split between US brokers and offshore options, or maybe more simply, CFTC controlled vs CFTC independent brokers. Part of me, the free-thinking anti-establishment part, thinks offshore all the way. But the other part, the newb green-bean side, thinks play it safe with an established US institution. Though, a lot of what I’m reading would indicate that U.S. brokers aren’t the safe play they once were, there’s a solid chance Oanda and Forex.com will be around years from now. What is popular opinion among experienced traders the best way to go for a newb?

Not really sure what you mean by “offshore”. If you have money offshore eventually its washes up “onshore”

[B]The short answer to your question is: Choose the best U.S. broker[/B] — based on your research, your due diligence, and your personal preferences — and leave the whole offshore thing for some time in the future, when you will be better qualified to evaluate offshore options.

I know a bit about both — U.S. brokers and offshore brokers.

• Ten years ago, I opened my first forex acccount with a U.S. broker, back in the wild-west days when there were dozens of U.S. brokers, they all were unregulated, and they all were dealing-desk brokers (market-makers).

I can tell you from personal experience that the few U.S. brokers who remain today are more financially-sound, more ethical, and more transparent than any of the brokers available to me 10 years ago. And this is due [I][B]only in part[/B][/I] to the regulation of the forex industry which began in 2010.