Total Newbie . .

Hi all. I’m a total newbie to Forex but really want to take the time to learn. My friend and I went to a workshop by a local trading school and they wanted $10k to teach us how to trade stocks or Forex (not both, one or the other)! Naturally we didn’t have that, and if we did we prefer to invest it instead of “spending” it on classes.

So I Googled around and the Google questions said you could learn to trade Forex for free on a site called BabyPips so I checked it out and here I am! I am still in the “preschool” lessons but I’ve worked my way down to the third section (and taken the quizzes) and am circling back around to re-read, etc.

My goal is to make some money towards retirement but I don’t have a lot so I can’t afford to lose it. I want to do what this site says. Practice for 6 months then start small and make a plan and work it. I just can’t see the wisdom of paying someone $10,000 for 40 hours of training when from what I’m reading here there is way more than 40 hours of learning you need!

I’m excited to keep learning and practicing and look forward to getting involved in the forums when I’m actually using a practice trading account.

1 Like

Hi and welcome :slight_smile: I’m very sorry but if you have capital you can’t lose, it’s better not to start investing in forex. The pressure to make a profit at all costs can lead to the loss of everything. Regards Greg

1 Like

Yeah, you can’t trade with that kind of mindset. That’s a recipe for failure. Make sure you finish the education section, especially money management. It has helped me a lot.

1 Like

just focus on learning particularly from this forum , investing is important but not this time for you , sounds good that you have a mentality to learn and practicing at the same time.