Tradeshock Mk 2

Another diary…

If you look at my profile, you’ll probably see a topic that I created to write a diary before. It didn’t work out, I forgot about it, now I’m stuck at home incredibly bored during Coronavirus lockdown I thought I’d give it another crack and write a blog along the way. Because why not, I can only forget about it again.

My name is Oli, I’m based in the UK and have been investing and trading for about 10 years (sounds like an AA meeting here :beer:) prepare for my life story…

I’m in my twenties, I’ve lived in several countries and have a gorgeous blonde wife from Scandinavia :ok_hand:. I’m a College Lecturer in Electrical Engineering for a couple of days a week and trade/do what I want the rest of the week. I have been trading and investing for 11 years and am pretty happy with how things have gone so far :facepunch:

I like to trade the longer timeframes; I want my trade to tell a story and give me a reason to put a position on other than how a fib might look. I model myself on how CTAs operate, I like long trends that I can build and build on over decent time periods, taking short term contrarian positions and making the most of sentiment and solid research. Here I’ll be posting FX trades but I pretty much trade anything, from bonds to bushels as long it has a compelling narrative and a decent trend.

Why I trade this way?

Can I day trade? Hell yeah. My own mentor is in fact a well-known day trader. However, I hate sitting in front of a screen all day, tried it and am not a fan it just doesn’t interest me. Let me do a few hours of analysis now and then, flick through some charts, read up on what’s happening in the world then let me go and do something fun. Also, I’m just not enamoured by the fact that you have to make constant quick decisions all day, Its just not my style. I remember one of my teaching colleagues said to me once “Oli if you where anymore relaxed, you’d be a blob on the floor”. That’s my style. :sunglasses: