Trendline Strategy

I’ve been trading on and off for a couple of years. Recently I have decided to try to do forex trading for a living.

I have tried different strategies - S&R ,EMA 200, Candlestick etc and come to the conclusion that forex is a percentages game and there is no holy grail.

Anyway,after trying all the strategies under the sun I have found the best day trading strategy to use is the Trendline breakout using Parabolic Sar on a 5 minute chart on currencies EUR/USD, GBP/USD and USD/DKK.

The strategy does not work very well on small ranges. It works roughly 80 precents of the time with a good money management ratio.

[B]Summary strategy is as follows.[/B]

1. Wait for a Parabolic Sar, green or red dot. Then draw a trend line.
  2. When it breaks the trendline then enter.
  3. Take 10 pips(40 pips on usd/dkk) and out.
  4. The strategy can be used on every pivot point.

Backtesting has resulted on average 300 pips a day and that includes losses using the three currencies. I must stress that this strategy requires loads of discipline.

Anyway, I would be interesting to know if anyone uses this strategy and feedback.

Thanks

Trendline

Can you give some more detail about the trend line you are making? Thanks

Drawing the trendline is not an exact science but parabolic sar helps.

Please see attached.

Thanks for the picture. I see what you are doing now. I will check this out.

How do you determine your stops?

I think your strategy means that as soon as you see a green Psar then draw a trendline for the preceding red psar (downtrend) and when the up candle breaks that trendline, buy. Correct? Because as I see in your chart and following your posted strategy a trendline from the last red candle (by your point #1) to the 1st green doesn’t give much of a line or I just don’t understand. A little clarification pls. Thanks for posting, d.