True or false: As a swing trader, I should use limit orders to get into trades rather than market orders

Hey swing traders, do you always use a limit order to get a trade going? Or will a market order work just fine based on your trade setup rules?

1 Like

I haven’t heard such a rule. In fact I haven’t heard of many people using limit orders at all - most trades seem to be opened using either a live buy/sell (which is obviously at market), or less often a stop order (at market).

I suppose it depends - on the entry tactic decided on for the strategy.

2 Likes

Oh interesting. I thought maybe the traders on higher time frames used these more since they’re not at the screens all the time waiting around for that perfect entry. Compared to like scalpers.

Well I think they’re unpopular because a limit order is executed when price moves in the opposite direction to where you would hope it goes. For example, a limit buy order has to be set at a level below where price is right now: so price would be falling when the buy was triggered. Now this can work well, but it fails quite a lot plus it is counter-intuitive. Most traders will either buy or set a buy stop order where price is rising, either breaking out above a previous high, or rising away from a previous low.

you’re quite right about that part

there, i think (i’m pretty sure) you’re confusing “stop orders” and “limit orders”, where Tommor - above - is (rightly) differentiating between them

what they have in common is that neither is a market order (which scalpers use, as you rightly say)

i’m not a scalper - i’m trading from higher time-frames than scalpers are (though my trades are all intraday), so i’m using “stop orders”

it’s clarified here:-

Thanks for sharing. Boy, that’s confusing.

Stop orders can be buy or sell. Limit orders can be buy or sell.

SL and TP are limit orders, right? When would I use a stop order?

sorry

i sensed you were a little confused and hoped it would be clarifying/simplifying