UK ONLY paying tax

Hi guys I’m new to all this forex stuff, I’m from the U.K. and was wondering if I get into forex full time will I have to pay any tax towards my winnings or how does it work exactly? People have told me it’s spread betting so no tax will be paid however they also said if I do trading I will have to pay capital gains tax but isn’t forex trading and also spread betting? I look forward to your answers, many thanks.

Take a look at your broker platform. IF you are spreadbetting, it will tell you that in no uncertain terms.

Spreadbetting in the uk carries no tax liability (unless it is your main or only source of income) The reason it carries no tax is to avoid the possibility of people who lose reclaiming the tax against other investments. (HMRC well know that hardly anyone “wins” )

Capital Gains tax has a pretty high threshold. You need to be winning in the £10,000s before you even need to think about “Tax” - :smile:

Don’t even worry about it until you are making sensible money ! TAX is the least of your problems :wink:

3 Likes

Brilliant thank you so much for this answer, much appreciated.

Also worth noting that Capital Gains tax does not apply to FX speculation, regardless of this being spread betting or indeed CFD speculation. The reson for this is becuase Capital Gains tax applies to the gain from a sale of an asset (both tangible and non-tangible such as stocks and shares). When speculating in FX through spreadbetting or CFD speculation you are using a derivitive, this means you never own the underlying asset and therefore don’t fall within the realms of Capital Gains tax.

1 Like

Tht’s interesting @BaconSandwich, I can live with the “CFD” extension to an extent - although you do actally purchase such a contract which then would become the “asset” - perhaps ? as indeed would Options or Futures.