Understanding how how margin works

Hello all,

I am just beginning my adventure in forex and started reading some of the articles in the school of pipsology.

My question is with regards to interest on margin.

If and when I do select a broker (which is becoming a difficult task in itself), I only plan on depositing anywhere between $1000 to $5000. If I start off with 1k, and to make the math simple, I have a leverage of 100:1, am I charged interest on any money above my 1k that I used in a particular trade?

My idea as of now is to hold a trade for several weeks and possibly months. What concerns me is that if interest is charged, it may end up eating up any profits.

Also, is it even wise for me to start off with 1k in my account?

Thanks in advance for your replies.

Interest charged (or paid) is not related to leverage or margin.

Interest is charged AND paid on a position which remains open at your broker’s roll-over time each day, and it is calculated on the value of your position, regardless of leverage.

Example: you buy one mini-lot of the EUR/USD. As you know by now, when you make this transaction, you are buying 10,000 euro and you are selling the dollar-equivalent of those 10,000 euro. Let’s say that your broker rolls open positions over (into the next trading day) at 5pm every day. And let’s say that at 5 pm today the price of the EUR/USD is 1.4600. That means that 1 euro = $1.46, and your 1-mini-lot position is worth 10,000 euro or $14,600.

Your broker will pay you interest on 10,000 euro at an interest rate determined by prevailing rates in the E.U. And he will charge you interest on $14,600 at an interest rate determined by prevailing rates in the U.S. So, every day, at the roll-over time, you will be paid interest, and you will be charged interest.