Unregulated brokers illegal? Whats the Risk? Help Please!

I am currently with FXCM, but since the CHF debacle I have been looking around for others to change too.

2 questions have come up…

#1. Is it legal for me as a U.S. resident to open an account with an unregulated offshore broker?

#2. What is the risk of trading with a company not regulated by CFTC/NFA or some other regulatory group?

Greetings

Answer 1: No idea about these type of things as I;m not US resident :slight_smile:

*Answer 2: I’d suggest you to stay with FXCM as they have got lifeline of $300M and I’ve heard that they just dropped their spread or commissions but if you still want to change the broker then off course you should prefer regulated broker for safety of your money. Never ever go to unregulated broker whatever lucrative options they are offering.

• its just a suggestion as I’m not a professional trader yet but I’ve a little idea about these things so what I knew, told you :slight_smile:

Greeting :slight_smile:

Yes , its legal to open up an account but since the democrats legislation its made finding a broker that fits your needs a…pain and struggle??? Its the brokers that face legal issues dealing with USA citizens…
hence the number of them is low, compared to other countries worldwide!

The risk is what happens when the company refuses to pay your money out of you account?? who are you going to complain to ??? Regulation means you can take it up with the regulating board.,as well as other matters in regard with the broker?

Just because a broker is not located in the US, doesn’t mean its unregulated. Many times those brokers are safer with your money than US based brokers.

Thanks for the info. I really appreciate it. I have decided to stay with FXCM.