US Dollar goes up when stock market does bad, but also when it does good?

Hello. I’m new to the forex field, and I am a freshman studying finance. I really want to understand everything clearly, and I’m having an issue with what affects the USD.

For example, on the lesson " How Bond Yields Affect Currency Movements", they say that if the stock market seems risky (meaning it might drop), more investors steer away from stocks, and buy bonds and the safe-haven US Dollar, therefore raising the the price of the USD higher.

However, in the lesson " The Relationship Between Stocks and Forex", they say that a stronger stock market mans a stronger economy, which means more investment in the country and currency, which means a stronger USD.

Am I missing something? Doesn’t this mean that the USD will increase in both cases, a bad economy or good one, since demand for the USD increases in both cases?

So what are the true fundamental indicators that tell me to buy EUR/USD? Or can someone please explain how this works or if I’m missing something? Thanks.

3 Likes

US Dollar goes up when stock market does bad, but also when it does good?

If we could reduce “market action” into one sentence, we’d all be millionaires. Don’t think about trading from a scientific perspective b/c it is not science (e.g. it’s not that black and white)- it is in it’s own category.

6 Likes

Your question is absolutely justified - how can the same factor cause opposite results?

In fact, you can demonstrate that the US stock market:USD relationship is weak at best. Look at the Dow sine the Euro’s inception in 1995 and compare it to the charts of the EUR/USD and USD/JPY over the same period.

Your position and approach are not what we often see on babypips. Please post more on your observations as your studies progress.

1 Like

Brilliant question, I was trying to search for the answer to that too. I have come across this article in the school of pipsology