USDCAD 200 Pip Drop reason?

I’m new to trading and I’m struggling to understand what caused a 200 pip drop of the USDCAD pair on June 19th. Could someone explain or tell me what caused it? I’ve been looking at the news but it couldn’t be solely be because of the CPI report that was released, can it?

1H Chart USD CAD

Super scary looking, right? Did this move stop you out? If so, don’t worry, we all get caught in these. In fact, I think this is the move that stopped me out on the EUR/USD going the other way. It was a bit unexpected (most of these are unexpected) This is actually a breakout-- a big one. When you become a bit more experienced, you’ll learn to love moves like these rather than be nervous about them.

It really doesn’t matter why these happen, from a technical analyst’s point of view. It may be reaction to a news event, which incidentally usually happens a half hour before the event! Go figure. Or it may be a phenomenon like the London Breakout.

In the case of a London Breakout, there are some compelling theories as to why these happen. For example, one theory postulates that while in the last three hours of the Asia session, price will often consolidate into a very tight range. Since the London session is the most liquid of the three, you’ll have massive amount of money flooding the market at one time, causing the proverbial “dam” to break. This causes price to move quickly in one direction; sometimes all the way into the NY session.