Volume in supply and demand

Hi All, I have been trading full time for 2 years now and still in the learning curve and have in the last 6 months found a trading plan that suits me using Supply and Demand as a fundamental to my trading and is showing a steady profit all be it on a modest 5k account.
I would like to increase my trading knowledge and trading accuracy and develop another plan by adding in volumes to where market consolidates(also known as ranges/accumulation/distribution etc). In Forex my understanding of volume is that we only know how many trades not how much has been traded, also can see divergence but is generally hit and miss. I have read Wycoff and understand the spring theory and the volumes associated with that particular set up. Although with this theory can also mislead you into a wrong direction, have seen to many times where a spring has returned to consolidation area only to keep going in the same direction.
If anyone can tell me or point me in the right direction of understanding volumes to help me give an indication of market direction would be helpful, all of my studies and testing has shown this to be unhelpful in using as an indicator at this moment in time and do feel I am missing some knowledge.

Beware of depending on brokers’ volume figures in forex. Brokers may issue real-time data on trades taken by their clients, but that’s the problem, its just their clients’ trades.

Assuming most of their clients are private retail traders, and knowing that most active private retail traders are losing money, then its hard to see this data as being very helpful.

1 Like

I have cross reference different brokers to check for inconsistencies and they are generally similar however that could work for or against me.
If brokers clients are retail and losing maybe that could be a clue as to which way the market could go? But then again maybe just to random.