What are the top currencies?

I am just new in forex and I would like to know the top currencies so I can focus more on trading them and investing on them. I would also like to know the factors that I need to consider when trading.

There are two ways to answer your question.

[B]First[/B], regarding single currencies, the most actively traded single currency is the U.S. dollar (USD), because the USD is the world’s reserve currency. The USD is involved in 85% of all currency transactions, worldwide.

After the USD, the most actively traded currencies are: the euro (EUR) 39%, the Japanese yen (JPY) 19%, the British pound sterling (GBP) 13%, the Australian dollar (AUD) 7.6%, the Swiss franc (CHF) 6.4%, and the Canadian dollar (CAD) 5.3%.

Note that when we talk about individual currencies, the worldwide percentages add up to 200%, not 100%, because there are two individual currencies involved in any currency exchange.

[B]Second[/B], since we trade currency pairs — that is, we always trade one currency against another currency — it makes sense to focus on what are the most actively traded pairs. The most actively traded pair is the EUR/USD, accounting for 28% of all currency exchanges worldwide.

After the EUR/USD, the next most actively traded pairs are: USD/JPY 14%, GBP/USD 9%, AUD/USD 6%, USD/CAD 5%, USD/CHF 4%, and USD/SEK 1%. That last one, in case you’re not familiar with it, is the U.S. dollar/Swedish krona.

There are dozens of additional currency pairs, but none accounts for 1% or more of worldwide turnover.

Just start off with EU first. Lowest spread.

Hi,
There are many top most currencies that are used all over the world,that are traded actively in the forex market. In currency trading, only the most economically stable and liquid currencies are demanded in sufficient quantities,like…
1.U.S. dollar (USD)
2. Canadian dollar (CAD)
3. euro (EUR)
4. British pound (GBP)
5. Swiss franc (CHF)
6. New Zealand dollar (NZD)
7. Australian dollar (AUD)