What can or can't an EA do?

Total newbie question -
Just wondering can an EA be written, not only to open and close a trade, but can it be written to manage the trade? how powerful is this EA thing.
Can do whatever I imagine I want it to do.
or
Pretty limited - your better off being at the screen.

Ok example - as that probably works best - Can an EA be written, to do the following?

Open trade on criteria based on a current price passing an ema line when Stochs are in a certain range (and rising or falling) only if the CCI index is below certain range(and rising or falling) and only if the “trend” is in our favor .
ALL of this and if only above/below the middle bolinger band.
And pretty much a similar type of criteria to close the trade.

AND - on top of all that - manage the trade - record price action and or something like this.
define feeling1; feeling2; feeling3; etc. . and if price and or the next few minutes shows what I want to see as far as where is ema ; where is b.b ; where is cci ; where is stochs ; fill in feeling 1 and let trade ride or if going against fill in feeling3 and close trade early (instead of waiting for S.L.)

Any of this make sense? Can an EA do it?

Short answer: Absolutely it can do that.

Long answer:

(Since this depends heavily on the software, I’ll use MetaTrader’s MetaQuote 4 Language as my reference. Others might be less powerful.)

An EA can do everything you can do sitting in front of the software, plus it can do it faster, all day long. Assuming you have the technical wherewithal to program the EA, it can do most any technical analysis trading scheme you have cooked up (obviously it won’t help you with fundamental analysis).

The “open trade” analysis in the example you provided would probably be 50-100 lines of code max, and another 50-100 max for the “close trade” analysis. Not that big at all; once you are experienced with the platform you could probably write it up in an afternoon.