What Do You Mean, "It Takes Years To Start Earning"?

I’ve heard this many times over, from my own tutor, to varies other (seemingly) seasoned traders. But I’m still confused. I have a tested strategy, I know the price action, I know and have back tested optimal entry times, I know when and how to place the trade, I’ve replayed and simulated the setup in Tradingview as if it’s real time (so I don’t see the setup after the fact) and over 80% is a winning trade.
Compared to others, I’m still new but I have the benefit of a tutor which cuts the learning phase and I’ve been studying a minimum 4hrs per day by myself for 6 months. I haven’t traded my strategy on a live account yet…but why would it still take me years to start earning, if I’ve simulated my strategy in real time and it’s profitable on demo and I know what I’m doing?

Please let a newbie know, because I’m assuming, I just have to repeat what I’ve been doing on demo. What am I missing please let me know.

Thanks!

Many traders will tell you it takes 10,000 hours of training and experience to be good at anything. This is not justified by the evidence available and is in any case a misinterpretation of academic studies.

Is there a reason why you are not trading a real account?

2 Likes

Hi Tommor, thanks for posting!

I’m assuming the people who say that didn’t have a mentor and a working strategy to start from and had to figure it all by themselves.

“Reason for not trading live”…
Well, I have an over analysis problem and I’m afraid of losing…the usual newbie issues.

It’s got to the stage of trading paralysis. I’m just afraid of jumping in the mud so to speak even though I’ve been doing what I need to do on demo. I just repeat the same process right?..

thinking about it, maybe I’ve kind of answered my own question lol

2 Likes