What to do if I really found a holy grail?

I have been trading for 2 years and now I found a good and simple strategy which works fairly well and can generate significant profit.
Now I want to expand my business and what to do?

My plan is fairly steady, I’m not looking to join the super-rich (I don’t want to spend time with people most of whom I probably won’t like).

I aim to double my account until the annual trading profits equal an average decent salary per year. At that point I will withdraw that salary, but keep trading, withdrawing the same salary every year. It will be like having a decent job without having to do the work.

Extra gains will probably only come from taking on extra risk, and that’s not justified.

2 Likes

Hi @tommor ,

Last month I nearly succumbed to doing that, in stages. I was going to withdraw 1% per month from our crypto portfolio, but on reflection, decided not to -at least for the time being. I decided to sell some expensive toys instead in the real world to postpone this decision. Last month it was a 18kt Omega watch, now off to check for some more mundane stuff. What changed my mind was the recent price action on gold, silver and the ratio between the two. I remembered back to when I was technically bankrupt, about 33 years ago, and thought “life is so much simpler when you have nothing to lose”. We are indeed luckier than most in this sad world. :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes

Hi,
Why change the habit of a lifetime? If you are generating significant profit, and before you expand your business, do you have excellent control over the expenses side of the equation?

About 30 years ago my wife and I decided to set three budgets - a minimum, a target and a stretch. I was a salaried expat and my wife also worked so we lived off her wages for over 3 years.