What's the difference between a Fib retracement a trend-based Fib retracement?

This was a recent thought which hit me as I’m a harmonic trader, not that it makes a large impact but I’m curious about how it works as I’m currently struggling to find comprehensive explanations elsewhere.

Any help would be appreciated :grin:

[quote=“MoneyMan1601, post:1, topic:136497”] What’s the difference between a Fib retracement a trend-based Fib retracement?
[/quote]

One is completely random nonsense, pure and simple.

The other is also random nonsense, but filtered by a directional bias determined by the direction of the current or immediately previous trend, which makes it statistically less likely to do damage to your account, overall.

2 Likes

Thanks for replying, but do you not believe in Fibonacci? do you not think they could be used as extra confluence in your chartwork?:sweat_smile:

I don’t.

I replied very glibly - sorry.

I think all the “evidence” for its “validity” is highly selected and anecdotal and biased.

I’ve also once or twice seen some purportedly objective, independent studies where the levels were “shown” not to be any more significant than randomly selected ones.

I’m just not a “believer” at all, sorry.

(I still probably shouldn’t have replied as I did, though!).

I think “extra confluence” is sometimes quite a questionable issue in itself, that raises a lot of questions, too, to be honest.

I’m not really into trading from indicators and trying to use one kind to “confirm” what another kind purport to show you. I think people get misled by it, to quite a large degree. This “constant search” (for many people) distracts them from other, better, more useful, more interesting things, IMO.

Not sure I can justify my views, though, or persuade anyone “searching” that way.

2 Likes

@MoneyMan1601
hi mate, let me provide another point of view… ok
re this

Now here is what you need to understand (in my opinion)