What's your greatest psychological challenge as a trader?

Hey there,

Curious to know what’s your greatest psychological challenge to trading? Would love to offer some free help to any one who comments and shares a little about what frustrates, blocks, or gets in the way of massive success and profitability.

I’m a high performance sports coach now trading for some years. I’ve applied proven psychological methods from sports that let you make sound decisions under pressure to key points in my trading where emotions typically cause poor decisions. (Fear and/or greed anyone?) Would like to share these techniques/ideas and see how they can help the community. For each comment you’ll get a short action plan to start working on problem areas immediately.

So please share a little of your story with me, lets chat a bit, and get started making your personal action plan! :slight_smile:

6 Likes

Hi. At the moment, the psychological challenge I am faced with regarding trading is chasing the market. Sometimes I do manage to “catch up” but it is an issue I’d like to avoid. Due to working Monday - Friday, 7-3:30, I have a tendency of rushing my analysis while having to deal with colleagues/patients. I have had profitable trades though, but I have realized that it does hinder my success rate, so I have started slowing down and taking as much free time as I can at work to analyze.

It will be interesting to hear your psychological methods with sports and how it has advanced your success rate

1 Like

Hey Josh Thanks for sharing your experience! :slight_smile:

Few quick questions before going further, what kind of trading are we talking about (swing/day/scalp)? Are you trading from your phone? Using price alerts? Have you tried using pre-placed orders and not looking at the market during office hours (this was my solution, when I couldn’t look at my phone/concentrate due to work)