Which one carries more weight?

Hi everyone
I’m new here,my name is Arni
Which divergence carries more weight, exaggerated, regular, or hidden? or they’re all the same but become more important as they print on major S/R areas/zones?
Could you have foreseen that green candle with the question mark? it printed on1h when momentum on 4h was negative
Where would you have entered a short trade?

1 Like

In regards to divergence it is key to have it as one of many confluences. Once you do that you’ll be able to decide which suits you best.

I also want to know the answer.

let you know when I find it :innocent:

I’m not an expert but Line 1 disqualifies as a divergence because the candle close is below the reference candle. You’ve plotted lines between candle highs but the actual calculation of the RSI considers closed prices.

https://school.stockcharts.com/doku.php?id=technical_indicators:relative_strength_index_rsi

Both 2 and 3 would appear to be significant enough to consider as valid divergences.

Can’t say. Not familiar with the momentum indicator and personally would feel more comfortable understanding the price action before it, especially on higher time frames. As @CraigForex2020 mentioned I’d be more comfortable with more confluences.

1 Like

You may benefit from watching this

I don’t believe VP knows how to use the MACD tbh. He doesn’t know how to use the histogram and doesn’t talk about divergences at all.

Here are some excerpts from some well regarded books:

The New Trading for a Living, Alexander Elder

MACD_Elder

Technical Analysis of the Financial Markets, John Murphy

MACD_Murphy

Technical Analysis: The Complete Resource for Financial Market Technicians, C Kirkpatrick & J Dahlquist

1 Like