Why did the price with my broker hit my stoploss but with other brokers it would not have?

I’m new to trading, Want to SpreadBet currencies as it seems the best fit for me. Signed up to TradingView and created a Demo Account with Pepperstone. Yesterday I entered a Buy trade on the hourly chart for EURGBP and within the hour my stoploss was hit. No big deal, I’m learning but I checked the chart this morning and it seemed my stop was hit then the market turned around quickly. It felt like the market deliberately dropped to my SL and then rebounded. I wanted to see what other Brokers prices were doing but that drop at that time was not there on their chart. It’s only a demo account so no real loss. Can anybody explain and should I not use Pepperstone?

You can see I entered the buy on the 9pm bar.

The usual reason, and one that’s usually not visible on an individual broker’s charts, is that your broker’s spreads were just wide enough to trigger your stop-loss order. Brokers with tighter spreads might well have left the position intact.

But that doesn’t mean you will always lose more with broker A or always have safer positions with broker B.

Spreads vary.

1 Like

There is a cpl of other little lessons on top of what Tom mentions.
Gbp/Usd - pound snapped up to prev hr1 high - EG snapped down to prev hr1 low

Lesson is good idea to put a SL outside recent hi/lo

Next lesson is why did this happen - the answer is UK Retail sales numbers were released early this morning and they were better than forecast - thus a knee jerk up on pound

Edit: reason why a knee jerk is that higher retail sales is regarded as inflationary thus diminishing likelihood of rate cuts - reality is the numbers are just a recovery from prev month’s record fall.

3 Likes

The difference with the charts would be forex.com and Pepperstone may have used a different liquidity provider.