WTF just happened today?

Using Oanda, and suddenly looks like the yen just skyrocketed in value, but i cant find any news reason for this. any1 know wtf happened?

You can find some comments here.

2 Likes

ooooh. thanks. Really glad i was long on the yen today, Gotta start using trailing stops, coulda made bank

1 Like

I was in front of the laptop and It happened in a matter of seconds with mUSDJPY, I lost my entire account. It was so fast that I want to know if an Stop Loss order would have been helpful.
I ask this because I was a small trader, maybe by priority it have would be the same for me.

1 Like

wasn’t just yen. AUD and NZD went crazy too. these events don’t happen often, but they do happen. that’s why I have started setting stops on all my orders. sorry for your loss, hope you can recover. take a break for a few days @apintoz

having a stop loss order does not guarantee you will get filled at the price you set, but in most cases you’ll be filled somewhere close to it.

One of the first things i remember reading on Forex websites was how important it was to always set a SL. is it really that common to not use them?

2 Likes

I had a profit on USD/JPY and would’ve slid into a beautiful come-up had I left the trade open. I’m kind of like darn it but the market just sent a swift kick to open off the year. More importantly we have to be on our toes and prepared for anything.

I hope not but I fear so…

1 Like

I have to agree that was my bad, I put stop losses when im away from my laptop, but I literally was in front of it so I couldn react. I remembered those movies when the Businessman Calls the broker and says SELLLLLLL

Eh… well lesson learned i guess. hope you were trading on a small acct. Cheers

The Yen has been strong for 24 hours…

CADJPY, NZDJPY and USDJPY

Thank you CSW…

1 Like

no, i think it’s very, very rare indeed