THE JOY OF CANDLESTICK TRADING - a Learning Experience

I know that well, but I think you didn’t get my point, no pun intended.

Just saying: If the resultant predicts the direction of the price, why would be have to change the way we calculate that resultant when we go long? The price doesn’t know when we want to go long, hence it should still obey to the former rule.

Edit: Btw, I am a student in sciences, so I try to understand the logic of things.

May the pips be with you! :smiley:

I think if you re read that area of the thread that the answer will appear to you.

Perhaps your scientific approach has confused you a little.

This is what I’ve read:

Again we set up a 5 minute chart with the Bollinger bands and the Keltner bands with period 4, factor 1.

But the Di Napoli MACD, as it stands, will not work.

In its normal state, we use it for short entries.

We need to set up the Di Napoli MACD for long entries.

This is done by turning the MACD upside down.
How do we do this?

First, by finding what the values of the Di Napoli MACD are.
They are :

long moving average = 17.5185 (17.52)
short moving average = 8.3897 (8.39)
signal = 9.0503 (9.05) - not needed… Make this one invisible if you can.

To turn this MACD upside down we invert the values, as follows.

long moving average = 8.3897 (8.39)
short moving average = 17.5185 (17.52)
signal - not needed

By doing this, we get an inverted MACD.

The red MACD is the original Di Napoli MACD.
Note that you cannot put the inverted values into the Di Napoli MACD.
You have to open a new MACD to put the values into.

The green MACD is the result when you put the values into inversion.

By doing this we are now ready to set up a 5 minute chart to trade long.

On the 5 minute “long” chart you have :

The Bollinger bands - standard values as before.
Keltner channel - period 4, factor 1 as before.
Inverted Di Napoli MACD - long period = 8.3897 and short period = 17.5185.