A journal of using a Forex back testing application

Introduction

I have been asked to review a backtesting application and provide honest feedback. I have chosen to write a journal of sorts in the Trading Tech & Tools section of the babypips forum to record my journey through the testing of this product.

On a personal basis this is a timely opportunity to progress my own 2021 Forex trading plan, late that it is.

However, for the purpose of this test, I shall be using some indicators which I hope almost everyone will be familiar with. I will be aiming to provide weekly updates of progress in the testing of this product, and will try my best to report what I have tested, why I have tested it, and the outcomes of my experience with it. Basically, does it do what it says on the tin?

I will be mindful that the audience may range from complete novice to experienced trader with a lot of automated testing experience. If you are one of the latter, please go easy on me, but please do give me the benefit of your experience and ask questions. The review is aimed at those who have not yet tried to back test their plans (or those who don’t even know why back testing is an integral part of a trading plan).

Disclosure
This will be the first time I have spent more than a few hours trying to use a software designed for automated back testing. I have tried (and failed) to use MT4 about a decade ago. I had planned to create a test strategy and plan in TradingView, but have failed to progress that in the last three months.

During the next 12 weeks, it is my intention to document my journey in some detail, using as simplified version as possible of an actual test strategy and plan. I will define the objectives of the tests and try to make them as broadly applicable as I can. However it will be limited to the foreign exchange (Forex) market.