And, then, there were five

[B]The number of U.S. retail FX brokers has shrunk to five [/B]—

— three large brokers and two smaller brokers (based on market share).

In the graphic below (taken from [I]Finance Magnates[/I]), six brokers are listed by name, but only five are included in the pie-chart, because IBFX no longer exists as a U.S. RFED. The U.S. retail business of IBFX has been sold to Oanda, and is now included in Oanda’s market share in the chart.

Here is the [I]Finance Magnates[/I] ARTICLE.

Compare the April 2016 market share chart (above) with the June 2015 market share chart (HERE).

Hi Clint,

Thank you for this information.

It seems like bad news in that there are fewer broker options for US retail forex traders.

I’m new to forex so my questions is about perspective.

Is this part of a trend? Have retail broker options for US customers always been at this level?

I’m not so sure I want to get into trading forex if the number of brokers for US forex traders is likely to continue to dwindle.

Please share your thoughts.

Thank you.

Mitsu

[quote=“Clint, post:1, topic:79477, full:true”]
The number of U.S. retail FX brokers has shrunk to five — [/quote]

[quote=“mitsufisher, post:2, topic:79477, full:true”]
Hi Clint,

Thank you for this information.[/quote]

That info is almost 2 years old, and it’s out of date.

Now there are only 4 retail forex brokers in the U.S.

This graphic is 9 months old, but it shows the 4 brokers currently offering retail forex trading in the U.S. and their respective shares of the U.S. retail forex market (as of June '17). Their market shares have not changed dramatically since then.

Is this part of a trend? Have retail broker options for US customers always been at this level?[/quote]

Yes, it’s a trend.

Back in 2009, there were 24 retail forex brokers operating within the U.S.

Here is a post from August 2009 listing those brokers.

(Use CTRL and your mouse-wheel to enlarge the table.)