Forex Education - How long does it take?

Hi, Guys, you know, I got basic education of forex trading and real couple of books and watched some sort of YouTube videos. So, those are the ways I learned forex, I thought I understand now forex trading. But while using demo account I found I need to learn more, because many things here are not clear to me. I want to ask you how long I have to learn forex? Is there any method so I can learn whole forex trading in 3 or 4 months?

10 Likes

I think learning is the thing you need to do all along with your forex adventure. You can’t complete learning. The more your know about forex, the more you realize that you still need to learn more. Just the idea. :smiley:

11 Likes

Take my advice with a grain of salt because I have been studying for 2 years and still haven’t placed a real money trade. What I found out is that there are a lot of skills needed to trade Forex.

First, you need to find trade setups. This can be based on price action, indicators, fundamentals, a wide variety of things.

Second, you need to figure out what entry technique you want to use. This could be based on indicators, price action patterns like double tops or bottoms, Fibonacci ratios, support/resistance levels, psychological numbers, basically, whatever you want.

Third, you need to figure out how you will exit your trades. This could be based on many of the same things as entry techniques or you could have a rule that says you have to get flat at the end of your trading day.

Fourth, you need to learn to manage your money so you don’t go broke.

Finally, you need to take all that stuff that you learned and build your trading plan. Once your trading plan is built, then you need to test it with historical data to confirm that you have a postiive expectancy. Once you have the historical test done, you need to demo trade it to make sure you can execute the plan under real market conditions.