Has Anybody Found Success

Hello, everybody, I have recently used two EA’s, they worked very well in the backtests, and they also worked very well in demo trading, but when I started trading them on my real account, they performed terribly. It is so illusive.

So this has got me wondering, has anybody actually found success with any expert advisors on a real account? Is it even possible? If so which expert advisors have worked for you on real accounts?

Here’s my opinion on it.

Think about it—do you think someone with a successful “EA” would share it? If they were intelligent enough to pour the likely thousands and thousands of dollars and time to squeak out a mere 1-2% edge against others in the market, why would they publicly offer up that system?

Personally, I’ve never seen one. I’ve also never seen a unicorn but think my chances would be better than finding a pseudo-ATM machine.

5 Likes

That’s normal.

It’s far easier to make some money selling an EA than it is by trading.

Because of that there are thousands of EA’s being promoted.

And because of that, according to the law of large numbers there will always be a few people who temporarily make a profit, just randomly.

The important thing to learn is that the EA’s that happen to be making a profit now aren’t the same ones that will also make a profit for the next year. That’s all random.

So “knowing how they’ve been performing recently” is almost useless information.

The answer to your question “Is it even possible” is therefore “Yes, technically it’s just about randomly possible, but it isn’t reliably possible”.

EA’s are for fantasists and people who dream of winning the lottery.

That’s an absolutely enormous market, of course. (Just look at how many people buy lottery tickets.)