How long to demo trade?

If I am winning trades consistently on my strategy for last 2 weeks, how long should I demo trade before doing live? I am a newbie

Thanks
Sal

Hi @sach_nyc,

Have you tried using the search function here? It’s the magnifying glass at the upper right hand of the screen.

Here’s the link to what I got when I searched “how long demo trade”:

https://forums.babypips.com/search?q=demo%20trade%20how%20long

Hope this helps!

2 Likes

Try a micro or nano account and raise your stacks gradually.

100$ account —> another 2 week profitable
add 500$ ----> another 2 week profitable
add 1000$ ----> another 2 week profitable
add 5000$ ----> and so on…

if one week you are not profitable take a step down…

make sure you have your psychology and emotions on check and raise the stacks gradallly as it is very easy to go crazy and lose almost everything in just one trade.

3 Likes

Need more time at least 3 month on demo trade account to make sure you have good trading method.

1 Like

Well it depends on you. When you feel confident enough to start using real money, do it! You should always leave some space for risk, but risk should be reasonable.

1 Like

I spent almost six months trading on a demo account before I tried doing so on a live account. That said, every person is different.

Keep in mind, however, that market conditions change in the long term and your strategy may need to change when that happens.

1 Like

thanks for comment. one more person has advised me to trade demo for 6 months.

From the School of Pipsology: At least demo trade for THREE to TWELVE months.

1 Like

i started demo trading in april. all I was trading was on the basis of my intuition and basic knowledge and losing out most of the time. now I am more systematic and strategic for last 2 weeks and have winning trade consistently