How many Oscillators and Indicators should you have on your chart?

Hey All, as a rule of thumb how many Oscillators and indicators should you have on your chart ? I understand it varies between trader and trader.

One. But only if you really need it.

1 Like

Thanks, I would love to get to that stage.

You took the words right out of my mouth! :relaxed:

yes it does
which is why this question cannot be answered accurately

Hi there, I am also new to this game and loving every second of it! When it comes to oscillators I think it really depends on your own style of trading. You have to decide what you are comfortable with and what works for you. Oscillators give you a general idea of where the market is going but they are really behind the time (I am not a great fan of them). I have developed a trading plan where I use several different signals i.e. I use the stochastic oscillator combined with at least 2 other indicators like my entry point must be at a resistance or support and there must be a candlestick pattern such as a pin bar or an engulfing bar.

I am comfortable with just one or 2 indicators. These indicators on which I had much practice even then too I not depend totally on them. They are to get help my main analysis is on the base of my own reading charts and market watch. One can also trade without indicators.

The fewer the better, generally.

I’m sure that’s right. It’s true of every other trading parameter, after all?

Best to remember that about 97-98% of them are losing money overall, not gaining it, though? Especially in the spot forex world.

The most consistently profitable trading system I have seen, the 3 ducks system, uses only 1 indicator (60 sma), and even that can be discarded when you’ve traded long enough to see the trends without it

1 Like

That’s like asking what toppings you like on your burger. :grinning:

Some prefer lots. Others none.

1 Like