Is it even worth opening a $1k account?

Hello everyone,

I’ve been trading for almost two years now in the Crypto space and for the past few months I’ve been trading with a ~$10k account, always cashing out profits on a weekly basis.

I’ve never traded forex but I’m skilled in technical analysis and I would like to give Forex a shot problem is I only have around $1k I can use to trade in the Forex space.

Is it even worth it? Will I even see a weekly return, I plan to use leverage to make the $1k significant but will that even be enough?

Any and all replies are appreciated.

This is not a helpful reply. But I am sort of in the same boat as you. I just opened an account with $1000. I am planning on using it for a couple of months and if I see I am consistently making profit then I will increase my deposit to take bigger positions. Answering your question if it is worthwhile: I think it depends on you. I think a $1k account is better if your approach is that you are going to test FX waters. But profits probably won’t really be worthwhile. I think you should test with $1k and see if you are profitable. And if you see that you are making profits consistently then scale up. You can use a demo account for testing as well, but I think a person’s psychology, especially a newbie’s psychology, doesn’t allow you to do the same trading you would do in a real account.

More experienced people will be able to provide with better answers.

1 Like

I’ve been using a demo account to mess around and it’s easy making money on a demo account with a standard strategy. I’m still trying to figure out Leverage. Is it possible to earn ~$10 per pip? w/ $1000 is probably the better question to ask.

Definitely a better question, and easier to answer, too.

The short answer: no.