Is there a way to legitimate trade for a living without 100k capital?

Hello, I am quite new to the trading world. And like many others, I would be willing to invest a huge amount of time into it with the prospect of eventually making a living from it. Now the question is whether this is even possible if you do not have 100k capital? (Lets say i need 3000$ a month and am getting 3% returns. that would be 100k)

can 1:30 leverage be the solution? But with leverage this high it is just a matter of time until blowing my account as far as i have understood. I am 30 years old and i have absolutely no savings. I can hardly imagine ever saving up 100,000. So should I save myself a lot of time and rather don’t even begin to try? What do you think?

It is very possible mathematically to make 3% a month and you would not even need a very demanding and world-beating strategy. But you must have a profitable strategy in the first place. The profitability of your trading is more dependent on the strategy than it is on either the capital (or the leverage, which is just another way increase the impact of your capital).

If trading is compared to driving, then having more capital / higher leverage, is just like having a bigger engine. But if you’re on the wrong road as soon as you turn the key and drive away from home, having a bigger engine isn’t the answer.

2 Likes

If you have a strategy that reliably makes a profit and continually add to the pot as well as winning, then it won’t take long to substantially build up. 3% a month isn’t a huge win, but most people don’t win at all so it’s not exactly easy.

Hi and welcome to the forum. You represent a frightening number of the population who has been “advised” by those who should know better (politicians, teachers, family members) that it is OK to borrow money and pay it off later. So now we have a huge number of people who do not have a savings culture, because the whole world is encouraged to “get it now, worry about it later”.