Letting Winners Run

I have noticed a pattern of wanting to close positions while in positive territory but before they hit their target profit. I have to force myself to allow them to run the course and sometimes tighten up stop losses and profit targets if the trade has been open for several days (I am a swing trader). This has obviously led to some trades being stopped out (regardless if I moved the stop loss price or not). has anyone else had this problem and how did you overcome it? Thank you in advance!

3 Likes

Its the most difficult problem in trading - when to close a winning trade.

It might be as well to go back to the very starting point. Are you forced to find a profit target? How do you identify the price?

2 Likes

I think, back testing can help you to improve your trading skill; running a winning trade for the TP level is important!

2 Likes

I have a rules based strategy for setup conditions, the entry price (candle stick patterns), stop loss and target profits all defined before placing a trade. So I donā€™t find myself forced to find a profit target as they are always a previous level of value (support or resistance). I have a decent amount of patience in waiting for decent setups that align with with risk to reward ratios as well. So I donā€™t feel like I am forcing trades just to trade (for the most partā€¦) Itā€™s that when I see some profit, I want to close the position to take the small win and avoid a possible reversal. Maybe I should focus more on trailing stops, or partially closing my positions while positive. Thoughts or opinionā€™s? Thanks!