Margins....leverage etc

I was just wondering if its possible to trade without margin? If I open a $100,000 account for example then to trade one single lot the value is $100,000 anyway so wouldn’t need any leverage right? My understanding (obviously I’m a seriously new newbie) is that with a $10,000 account for example, to trade one single lot that is $100,000 with leverage.

The reason I ask is that if I don’t use leverage then I can’t possibly get a margin call which means I can leave positions open longer if needed.

Thanks and apologies for the painful newbie question.

Your first paragraph is spot on.

Yes, you can trade without leverage. With a $100,000 account, you could trade one standard lot (100,000 units of currency); with a $10,000 account you could trade one mini-lot (10,000 units of currency); with a $1,000 account, you could trade one micro-lot (1,000 units of currency); and with a $100 account, you could trade one nano-lot (100 units of currency) — all without using leverage.

Think about what you just said. It really means this: If I don’t use leverage, then I can blow my entire account on one trade, without being bothered by a margin-call from my broker.

Why would you want to do such a thing?

The first rule of forex trading is: CONTROL RISK. That means: limit losses.

Suppose you have an account with a U.S. broker. Your maximum allowable leverage is 50:1 (dictated by the almighty CFTC). Now, suppose that you choose to use 25:1 leverage on a particular trade. Finally, suppose that you lose HALF of your account on this trade, triggering a margin-call which automatically closes your position. The problem is NOT that you got a margin-call. The problem is that you lost HALF your account. You should NEVER expose yourself to losses of that magnitude.

Learn to do the math regarding leverage, margin, position size, and risk (as a percentage of your account balance).