Newbie from Cape Town

Hi everyone, I recently started learning about Forex even though I’ve heard about it 8 years ago and thought it’s a scam. I work in the Trust & Safety field for the last 6 years so that helps spotting the fraudsters. I work from home and I basically want to diversify my income stream.

Anyone here who became a profitable trader without using services of a mentor and learned everything purely on YouTube?

7 Likes

FX trading is a high risk profit and LOSS venture. There’s mo guarantee you’ll make any income.

I learnt from reading trading books and practising daily alone on a demo account for eight months. As for social media, it’s marketing hype, best avoided.

2 Likes

I suggest completing Pipsology. Good luck!

1 Like

Hey @steve369 , are you now a profitable trader? The thing with Forex is folks mustn’t be greedy, don’t do it to become a millionaire, take the small gains and set limits as you go along.

@dushimes definitely still need to hop over to that side of the site. Will do so after my shift is over.

2 Likes

I can see why people think it is a scam but the reality is that it’s the business of exchanging foreign currency, just as you do when you go on holiday abroad. Just on a massive scale.

2 Likes

Yes, I am a small-time profitable trader. That suits my style…

2 Likes

Mentors can tell you, what are the important thing s to know and save You abit of time.I spent ages trying to learn things which are of no use.

You have to find your own way really and a trading style to fit your own psychology/personality.It might be another reason why so many fail, they try and transfer the methods what they taught into their own practice.Instead of constantly practicing on Demo.

Abit like a skillful footballer/soccer player he finds his own
Creative level

1 Like