Newbie: Seeking for advice

Hello! I’m a newbie here! Happy to found this community. I hope I can learn my profitable trading here. :slight_smile: I’ve been in a practice trading for months now. I’m also familiar to some indicators. May I ask your advice what is the effective indicators for a newbie to use?

Thank you. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Welcome to the community Gly! Learning how to use effectively moving averages as dynamic support and resistance is a good start. Then use price action to trade. I can suggest a book if you want to know more about price action. As for other indicators, bollinger bands, MACD, parabolic sar, rsi are easy to understand and use. Learn from the books, but do independent back testing to see if it fits your personality.

Happy learning!

2 Likes

Hey there Gly, happy to answer any questions as I went through what you are going through now. So much info out there its hard to know what has value.

1 Like

RSI is simplest and quickest to come to understand. Make sure you also understand why it gives false signals and don’t rely on it blindly, look at price first - if price doesn’t show a good probability of a profitable trade, then no indicator will make it better.

Whichever indicator you use, select and use one only. Add another if you must do but preferably only after you’re already profitable. If you’re winning, a second indicator can help you find good trades and increase your consistency and profitability, but one more indicator doesn’t mean going from losing to winning and profit is not in proportion to the number of indicators you can find.

1 Like

This! I use RSI, but only to give me a further reason to enter a trade which I have already identified from a clean chart. If I see what I think is a setup, then I will look to build my case for taking it. S&R are my primary, but RSI is next.

1 Like