Oanda vs Forex.com for US resident?

Hi. I’m a beginner opening a $2,000 account in the US. Oanda vs Forex…com?

Both should be fine. Personally I use Forex.com but I don’t see any difference whether you use either.

How long have you demo traded?

Take a look at this data first.

With such a big initial investment I would rather use Exness.

Exness isn’t available in the US.

In the article you’ve linked, I think the data shown is more of a reflection of the traders’ abilities rather than the trading platforms themselves.

Some companies may just be better at marketing, which means they’re able to acquire more new traders. Due to the high failure rate of new traders, this will lower the proportion of their profitable traders.

1 Like

I haven’t traded yet, just been studying. I plan to start demo trading for 2 months before I open my account, so I’ll probably demo a month with each broker. Just wanted to hear peoples’ opinions on the two. Thanks.

Not to confuse things, but IG just started allowing US residents to trade on their platform. Well, just got US approval would probably be the more correct explanation.
I use Oanda. Forex is a sponsor here.
Sure THAT clears things up for you…

3 Likes

That’s a massive move for IG - one of the biggest UK based spread betting and CFD providers. I’m sure this new market investment (into the US) will only be profitable for them.

I’m also sure the US welcomes with open arms a new player into the very very restricted and limited field that is available.

1 Like

Same I use Oanda myself I think the only difference really that made gravitate towards Oanda was I could trade any amount of units where I believe forex minimum is 1,000 units.

Yup you are correct. Ooh maybe I should open an Oanda account also. How long have you been with them?

I’ve had them for about 3 years.

They have crappy customer service but I can at least withdraw / deposit fine though.

4 Likes