Open a nano account instead of a demo account?

hi! newbie here - i just wanted to gauge what the differences between what you experienced using a demo account and a live trading account. i came across a thread where it was mentioned that having a nano account is a better option than doing a demo so that you can get the actual experience of trading (first hand) and not waste (for a lack of a better word) time.

what are your experiences/thought about this? :slight_smile:

It’s pretty contradictory to say that demo doesn’t give “the actual experience of trading” and then open a live account and trade an insignificant amount of money on it. You might as well just stick to demo at that point. Most of the traders who go live before they are ready are just doing so for the gambler’s rush, and just trying to justify it to themselves.

If you’re treating your trading seriously, there’s no point in going live if you can’t consistently make money on a demo account. It just hurts you down the line when you have less or no capital to trade with.

there are two ways for learning to swim:
either by using life-jacket and other similar accessories
or by diving in and doing what is needed to stay afloat

Which one do you chose?

that’s what i was thinking too. it just perplexed me a little with regards to what was mentioned about how “it’s nothing like trading for real.” i was questioning more the platform and other tools of the trade. what you experience with demo accounts should be what you get in the live accounts, right?

etfak, that analogy does not bode well with me - i can’t swim in real life! :slight_smile:

Demo trade until you can establish a solid trading plan.
Why expose yourself and your hard-earned cash to the market if you don’t know what you’re doing?

For the most part, yes. Obviously it’s dependent on the broker but most of the regulated ones (at least here in the U.S.) offer good services.