Preventing Bad Behaviors

Howdy Everyone,

I’ve been using demo accounts with MT5 for about 6 months now. Like many people, I’ve lost way more than I’ve gained, but I’ve reached the point where I have only ONE major problem.

ME

When I start to lose, I get angry and make stupid decisions. I know they’re stupid, but I do them anyway because I get frustrated. Is there a trading platform out there that allows you to make account-level controls to prevent bad behavior? For instance, say my strategy called for a maximum stop loss of 50 points. I’d love to have a platform that prevented me from extending my SL once I placed a trade. I’d also love to set a daily maximum loss that would bar me from trades for 24 hours once I hit that number.

Does anyone know of a platform that can do things like this?

that would be cool if they had a system like that, but how about you try doing it yourself. You don’t want depend on the system for that. Just try programming your mind to follow your trading strategy. Behavior is impacted by a lot of different traits, so either way a system like that probably won’t be effective in the long run

I appreciate the suggestion. Unfortunately, I’ve been trying that unsuccessfully for 3 months now. I just can’t seem to find the self control when I lose my temper. I’m hoping that if I find a platform with “training wheels,” I can do a demo account and SEE the result of not losing my damned mind, thereby helping me overcome the “angry” trades.

That might sound like a solution to your problem but, if you are planning on trading long term, then it is not a viable solution even if you find such a platform.

You need to deal with your personal issues and overcome them.