Recurrent mistake is stop loss being triggered

Hello Traders,

I’m facing an issue with my trading system. I’m currently a losing trader but still in the game for several months and didn’t blew up my account. I keep records of my trades and a reccurent mistake is that my stop loss is being triggered way too much. I completely accept that some trades are losers and the SL is being triggered but I have a lot of trades that has been proven to be right in the few hours or days after my SL haas been triggered.

After some analysis, it seems my entry point are correct, not the best but definitively correct. My risk/reward target is ranging from 2 to 5. My first feeling is that targeting a high risk/reward either forces me to place a tight stop loss which explains why my SL are being triggered too easily or my target is overestimated and not reachable.

These missing winning trades hurts financially my account… and emotionally. Again I completely accept losing trades but when my SL is being triggered from few bips, taking the loss then seing the trade going in the right direction is hard.

Did you face the same issue ? If yes, how did you correct it ?
I will test to adjust my risk/reward around 1.5/2, it should increase my winning rate.

Best
Simon

3 Likes

You can fine tune your risk management strategy as aiming for high risk/reward ratios can be enticing, it’s essential to ensure that your stop-loss levels are realistically placed, considering market volatility and price action

Testing and adjusting your risk/reward ratio to a more conservative range like 1.5/2 could indeed help increase your winning rate by allowing for wider stop-loss levels while still aiming for profitable targets. You also consider refining your trade timing or entry criteria to enhance the effectiveness of your setups and reduce premature stop-loss hits.

3 Likes