Struggling to make profit

Hi I have a problem here I have been trading for almost 3 years now but my problem I’m struggling to make profit sometimes I make profit then after few days I loose it all like last month I made a 29% profit but at the end of the month I lost it up to -7% I like to take forex trading as my primary business but it is hard sometimes I get luid by this easy mony making pop advert what should I do?

practice more risk management

2 Likes

That means spending more time on demo or ?

1 Like

most definitely, practice that on demo before even going LIVE again

No, it does not mean that. @justshell is correct that you need to look at your risk and equity management.

If you are swinging from +29% to -7% then it suggests you are a) trading position sizes that are too large with respect to your equity balance and b) that you are carrying too much risk per trade.

It may also be due to your trading style. I.e. are you trading a systematic method with defined entry and exit criteria or are you trading intuitively and just shooting from the hip whenever you see something that “looks promising”?

If you really wish to trade forex as a prime income source then you need to look at these issues and identify any other things that may be contributing to your erratic results. Try keeping a journal of your trades and analyse each one regarding what went right and what went wrong. Earnings from forex are rarely very stable because of the nature of the markets themselves - but that does not alone account for the wide swings in your results that you are indicating.

3 Likes

he can do all that while on demo, no need for him to do it on a LIVE account right away, and people’s issues comes from not following there plan and just doing whatever when they become frustrated to be honest. I remember overtrading like crazy when I first started out

2 Likes