System for me?

Hey everybody,

Just a quick question: I’m a student that has to be at school from 8-5, and sometimes later, everyday. I have a little experience in trading forex but its been awhile and I’d like to get back in the game. I’ve spent a little time reading the threads and systems on this forum. I was wondering if there are any systems out there that you all recommend that don’t require being in front of the computer all the time? Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind spending some time doing this, just not ALL the time. The Cowabunga system seems pretty good, but any info from you guys out there would be very much appreciated. From what I’ve seen, this forum is awesome and it seems like a great thing thats going here. Sorry if this has been discussed somewhere else. Thanks

I’d recommend trying a system that trades on longer timeframes such as 4-hour or dailies. Of course this will only work if you’re happy with taking only a handful of trades a month! Some people are just too impatient to allow their trades too remain open for days.

Hi,

forex Ninja, can you maybe offer some assistance with that for the newbies, as i personally think its rare to come accross a system that works off day bars or 4 hours. Most of the traders i know prefer to work with shorter time frames,

Perhaps if you directed them to a method of working with the longer time frames this may help?

The idea that most of the folks you know prefer shorter-term trading doesn’t necessarily have anything to do with the success rate of longer-term trading. Many folks just like the action and activity of trading shorter-term.

If you are using a technically based system, then it should (in theory) be just as applicable to long-term trading as to short-term trading. A break-out is a break-out, a moving average cross is a moving average cross, no matter what timeframe. Actually, moving out longer-term often means seeing smoother trading action.