Thoughts on minimum pip gain benchmarks/standard

Hello community, I’m a beginner FX trader here. Pls your opinion: We have 1:2 RR as a good and standard reward to risk ratio, so now with a good 1:2RR what number of pip gain would you consider standard if you were to select quality trades only.

…in other words, is 43 pip gain and a 1:2 RR trade setup good to take? Quality-wise, what minimum pip gain would you benchmark on and why. Or do you even consider this at all in your trading?

PS:I know all this benchmark figures should not necessarily be a MUST-rule written on stone, I just need a frame to think from and adapt it to what works best for me.

Thank you all so much in advance for your quality contributions

2 Likes

Pips are very different from pair to pair. I define my risk and my profit targets in terms of multiples of ATR, and to make things more probably profitable I avoid the very low volatility pairs.

6 Likes

Alright thank you for your input tommor.
However, I don’t know much about ATR, let me go google and learn so i can understand you better.

1 Like

ohhh i get it now. (ATR= Average True Range)

ATR is much of an indicator, my question about pip gain was more towards better risk management and selecting QUALITY trades only

my answer starts with an apology! i know i can sometimes across in the forum as “criticizing”, and i’m sorry if that’s how this post comes across - it’s intended only helpfully! :blush:

this is a strange (and in my opinion misguided) starting-point to discuss what you want to know

there’s no “number of pips” i’d consider, because that’s not a useful parameter for me

nor for anyone else, actually

anything like this needs to be volatility-related (as @tommor has wisely said, above)

a pure “number of pips” isn’t volatility-related; a fraction of ATR is volatility-related; a multiple of ATR is volatility-related; lots and lots of other parameters are volatility-related and any of them is better than “a number of pips”