When do you let go?

I have been demoing a scalping system for over 2 months now and just broke even. Most of the time was spent in the red. I have been corresponding through email with the developer the whole time trying to turn it around. My loss/win ratio is about 55%loser & 45% winner. Should I look for a new system?

“when do you let go ??”

whenever she threatens you with police action !!

mp

Actually that’s not a bad ratio. There is only two possibilites of trading not going the way you would like (barring a rip off broker or mechanical malfunction) It’s either the system or the trader. You already have a ratio that is close to 50/50. Unless the winners are very small and the loser are very big, I’d say you have a tweakable system.

Your title question, “when do you let go.” Can be very meaningful in relation to bad trades. I’ve found that you can turn a losing system into a winning one just by learning when trades are likely to not go your way and getting out before the loss gets larger. I’m at the point now, where with many of my losses I’ve learned to cut them before it hits my full stop loss. Even a few saved pips over multiple losing trades can magnify the effectiveness of the winners.

So, it may be time to consider examining yourself as a trader. Make sure you are not impeding the execution of the system, examine what you are doing first and see if you deviated from your trading plan or did bad executions. Or, is your money/risk management killing your account.

You could use this strategy which is a name hijack of the 2nd highest viewed thread on this forum, TRO’s “Never Lose Again”.

1. Use a broker that allows multiple sub-accounts, Very Important!

2. Take a position in the market based upon your market analysis, trade signals, fundamentals, indicators, ouija board, dart board, etc.

3. Trust that all the above was correct and that the trade goes in your direction for a TP.

4. If point 3 does not materialize see point 5.