Which time chart for RSI in forex

Hi All,

I am LoudRex a.k.a. Rik from the Netherlands.
I am very new to forex and now trading for a week.

I really understand the candlesticks, and now want to get more into the forex world by understanding a Relative Strength Index indicator.
I read somewhere that someone sets the RSI on 1 day to get a better view of the defined market i.e. EUR/USD.
But a 1 day time chart doesn’t move too often.
And I am trading with only 1 a 2 euros per trade to get started, so there is almost no movement with my time chart set to one day.

So after all, what is for smaller traders the best settings for RSI and time chart??
I hope you’ll can help me out.

Kind Regards,
LoudRex

PS. My RSI is standard set by IQOption (my forex broker), 14 candels, 30 under, 70 over.

70/30 with 2 and 14 period settings on 3 time frames as you can see depending on setting and inputs different over sold over bought

80/20 settings again different

For some more confusion, when the opportunity presents it’s self I use a scalping strategy with settings of 2 period, 90/10 inputs, on a 1 minute time frame. When price goes over 90 I sell, when it goes below I0 I buy sell. I only trade certain pairs at certain times. This is not about risk reward this is about overall making more than losing

To be clear, this is the same as my intra day strategy; All systems work sometime…But no system works all the time. Always Manage Risk.

3 Likes

In my opinion choosing timeframe also will depending our trading style, if we prefer to trade for long-term strategy, or we have long-term plan trading, hence we can using daily timeframe to figure out and reading the trend, but indeed need more patience to waiting RSI reached overbought oversold area, but if we prefer work as intraday trading, I think we can use RSI on H1 timeframe

2 Likes

So the RSI on 14, 30, 70, is good for H1 time charts?
Because I am looking for about the right settings at H1/M30 time charts…

~~LoudRex